Event DetailsMalaysia's 13th General Elections Live Screening
Sunday, May 5, 2013
9:00am - 1:00pm
EH 4448
Malaysia’s 13th General Elections were held on May 5, 2013, following the dissolution of the Parliament announced by the Prime Minister on April 3, 2013. Both the House of Representatives (a.k.a Dewan Rakyat, the lower house of the Parliament) and 12 out of 13 State Legislative Assemblies (with the exception of Sarawak were renewed, following the practice established in 2004 to hold these elections simultaneously.
At the federal level, voters elect the 222-member of House of Representatives of the Parliament. The party that has the majority of the House of Representatives will form the federal government.
At the state level, voter elects representatives to the Dewan Undangan Negeri (a.k.a. State Legislative Assembly). The number of representatives varies between the different states, with as many as 71 electorates in Sarawak and as little as 15 in Perlis. In General Election 2013, there are in total 505 state representatives being elected. The party that forms the majority of the state assembly will form the state government.
In both federal and state level, members are elected from single-member parliamentary constituencies drawn based on population using the first past the post system. State assembly constituencies are usually smaller than parliamentary constituencies, in area and population.
Come and join the group of concerned, patriotic Malaysians to watch the election process live, witness the democracy of the country in electing the people’s choice.
“I am not a Chinese, I am not a Malay, I am not an Indian, I am a Malaysian.”